Back to Archived News Stories

Six B.C. officers win policing honour
The Order of Merit is awarded for police work and community service

By Catherine Rolfsen, Vancouver Sun

The Vancouver Sun 2007

Six B.C. police officers received one of the highest Canadian police honours in Ottawa Friday.

Deputy Chief James S. Chu of the Vancouver Police Department, Insp. Terry Wayne Kopan of the Vancouver RCMP, Cpl. Thomas David Clark of the Victoria RCMP and Supt. Gordon Christopher McRae, Insp. Donald John Adam and Insp. Brian Robert Pitman of the Surrey RCMP were invested into the Order of Merit of the Police Forces by Governor-General Michaelle Jean in a ceremony at Rideau Hall.

The six were joined by 47 other police officers from across the country who received the badge -- which features a blue-enamelled cross -- for their contributions to policing and community involvement over an extended period.

Chu, who was one of only 10 to receive an "officer"-level award Friday, has served with the Vancouver Police Department for 28 years.

Chu commands the Operations Support Division which includes Criminal Intelligence, Tactical Support, Youth Services and Emergency Operations and Planning, and has been an innovator in the use of information technology in policing.

While serving in Surrey, Kopan had the distinction of delivering Vancouver's successful bid for the 2010 Olympics to the International Olympic Committee in Lausanne, Switzerland in 2003.

That same year, the Surrey community nominated him Police Officer of the Year.

"On behalf of all Canadians, I commend each and every officer recognized by the Governor-General of Canada for exceptional service to their country and the policing community," Minister of Public Safety Stockwell Day said in a press release. Created in 2000, the Order of Merit pays tribute each year to Canadian police exemplifying conspicuous merit and exceptional service going beyond community protection.


Insp Terry Kopan is a LCol in the CIC, having served many years in Vernon ACTSC in various capacities culminating as the commanding officer from 2002 to 2005. He is now on the National CIC Branch Advisory Council.